×

Cie Philippe Saire
Av. de Sévelin 36
1004 Lausanne
Suisse

in permanent residency at Théâtre Sévelin 36

+41 21 620 00 12 info@philippesaire.ch

Newsletter

×

Cie Philippe Saire
Av. de Sévelin 36
1004 Lausanne
Suisse

in permanent residency at Théâtre Sévelin 36

+41 21 620 00 12 info@philippesaire.ch

Newsletter

Salle des Fêtes (Party Room) spectacle On tour ×

Duration: 50 min approx.

Salle des Fêtes (Party Room) is the fifth part in a series of choreographic works in convergence with visual arts. After the successes of Black Out, Vacuum and Hocus Pocus (young audience), this new opus starts from a fascination for party balloons.

“The disturbing, even nightmarish aspect that these figurative balloons, which at first glance looked joyful, intended for children, referencing cartoons and Disney… this threatening aspect disturbed me without my knowing why. It was, I think, the reversal of the function: the world of entertainment that could turn against us.”

In a circular stage space, two performers dance with balloons. Masked like bank robbers, their presence stands out in this world of popular entertainment and questions the tension between the captive and the captivated.
We do not really know who they are… Two clones charged with entertaining us, highlighting our gravity and our desire for elevation, performing a kind of ceremony, perhaps consoling us.

"As men are not able to fight against death, misery, ignorance, they have taken it into their heads, in order to be happy, not to think of them at all.”
Blaise Pascal, Pensée (1670)


This research is based on images of balloon sellers in different cities, that I have been collecting for years during my travels and tours. A distant part of my childhood probably motivated this attraction. I filmed several of them, idly waiting for customers or trying to control a mass of balloons carried away by the wind. The wind gives them an autonomy that is both light and disturbing. It is then the very body that becomes fragile and tormented by this swirling mass that seems much more powerful than it is.
All of a sudden, the balloons strangely materialised these existential aspects of flight, the need for lightness and elevation. They combined power and fragility in the inflated object; they imprisoned the air, the breath, symbols of life. They fascinated and repelled. As I like to say of a show that touched me: they exceeded expectation. And it is this richness that drove me to work with these objects.

Philippe Saire


The work is structured in three acts:

  1. The disc on the floor, the dancers dancing in the periphery.
  2. The disc on the ceiling, containing a bunch of helium-filled balloons inflated at various levels: floating high, at mid-level, and low to the ground.
  3. Like a loop with the first one, the disc lowered back down to the ground.

Two versions depending on the size of the stage.
A circular structure in the centre, a disc/cover that contains the balloons and which at some point rises to the ceiling, along with the balloons, inflated with helium.
A bunch of balloons inflated at various levels: floating high, at mid-level, and low to the ground.
For big stages, the audience is seated in a circle on chairs on the stage. The audience is invited to the party.
For smaller stages, a more stripped-down, frontal version.


Concept and choreography
Philippe Saire


Choreography in collaboration with the dancers
Neal Maxwell, David Zagari


Assistant
Chady Abu-Nijmeh


Lights
Philippe Saire, Vincent Scalbert


Sound design
Philippe de Rham


Costumes
Isa Boucharlat


Dramaturgy advice
Roberto Fratini Serafide


Supports and partners
Cie Philippe Saire is governed by a joint support agreement between the City of Lausanne, Canton of Vaud and Pro Helvetia - Swiss Arts Council; and is supported by Loterie Romande, by the Philanthropic Foundation Famille Sandoz, by Ernst Goehner Stiftung, by the Foundation Françoise Champoud, by the Foundation Corymbo and Migros Pour-Cent Culture. Cie Philippe Saire is in permanent residence at Théâtre Sévelin 36, Lausanne.


↳ PHOTOS HD
↳ TECHNICAL RIDER

Past dates

Lausanne (CH)
15.09.2021
26.09.2021
Paris (FR)
23.11.2021
26.11.2021

×

Cie Philippe Saire
Av. de Sévelin 36
1004 Lausanne
Suisse

en résidence permanente au Théâtre Sévelin 36

+41 21 620 00 12 info@philippesaire.ch

Newsletter

×

Cie Philippe Saire
Av. de Sévelin 36
1004 Lausanne
Suisse

en résidence permanente au Théâtre Sévelin 36

+41 21 620 00 12 info@philippesaire.ch

Newsletter

Salle des Fêtes (Party Room) spectacle En tournée ×

Durée: 50 min environ

Salle des Fêtes est le cinquième volet d’une série de pièces chorégraphiques en convergence avec les arts visuels. Après les succès de Black Out, Vacuum et Hocus Pocus (jeune public), ce nouvel opus part d’un jeu avec les ballons de fête.

« L’aspect inquiétant, voire cauchemardesque que prenaient alors ces ballons figuratifs a priori joyeux, destinés aux enfants, référencés aux dessins animés, à Disney… cet aspect menaçant m’avait alors troublé sans que je sache bien pourquoi.
C’était, je pense, le renversement de la fonction : ce monde du divertissement qui pouvait se retourner contre nous. »

Dans un espace scénique circulaire, deux interprètes dansent avec des ballons. Masqués tels des braqueurs, leur présence tranche dans cet univers de divertissement populaire, et questionne la tension entre captif et captivé.
On ne sait pas bien qui ils sont... Deux clones chargés de nous distraire, de mettre en exergue notre gravité et notre désir d’élévation, de procéder à une sorte de cérémonie, de nous consoler peut-être.

« Les hommes n’ayant pu guérir la mort, la misère, l’ignorance, ils se sont avisés, pour se rendre heureux, de n’y point penser. »
Blaise Pascal, Pensées (1670)


Au départ de cette piste de recherche, les images que je collecte depuis des années dans différentes villes traversées lors de voyages et de tournées sur les vendeurs de ballons. Probablement une part lointaine d’enfance qui motivait cette attirance. J’en ai filmé plusieurs, attendant tranquillement le client, ou tentant de maitriser une masse de ballons emportés par le vent. Vent qui leur donne alors une autonomie à la fois légère et inquiétante. C’est alors le corps même qui devient comme fragile et tourmenté par cet amas tourbillonnant semblant bien plus puissant que lui.
Tout d’un coup, ces ballons concrétisaient étrangement ces aspects existentiels de la fuite, du besoin de légèreté, de l’élévation. Ils alliaient la puissance et la fragilité dans l’objet gonflé, ils emprisonnaient l’air, le souffle symbole de vie. Ils fascinaient et repoussaient. Comme j’aime à le dire d’un spectacle qui m’a touché : ils dépassaient ce qu’on voit. Et c’est cette richesse qui m’a déterminé à travailler avec ces objets.

Philippe Saire


La pièce est structurée en trois actes :

  1. Le disque au sol, les danseurs dansant dans la périphérie.
  2. Le disque au plafond, contenant les ballons gonflés à l’hélium, avec un jeu avec des ballons « réglés » de manières différentes : en élévation compète, flottant à mi-niveau, flottant à ras le sol.
  3. Comme une boucle avec le premier, disque redescendu au sol.
    « Partout donc à Disneyland se dessine le profil objectif de l’Amérique (…). Digest de l’american way of life, panégyrique des valeurs américaines, transposition idéalisée d’une réalité contradictoire. Certes. Mais tout ceci cache autre chose et cette trame idéologique sert en elle-même de couverture à une simulation de troisième ordre : Disneyland est là pour cacher que c’est le pays « réel », toute l’Amérique « réelle » qui est Disneyland (un peu comme les prisons sont là pour cacher que c’est le social tout entier, dans son omniprésence banale, qui est carcéral) »
    Jean Baudrillard, Simulacre et simulation

Deux versions en fonction de la taille du plateau
Pour les grands plateaux, le public en cercle sur de chaises sur scène. Des spectateurs sont comme invités à la fête.
Pour les plateaux plus modestes, une version frontale, plus dépouillée.


Concept et chorégraphie
Philippe Saire


Chorégraphie en collaboration avec les danseurs
Neal Maxwell, David Zagari


Assistanat
Chady Abu-Nijmeh


Lumière
Philippe Saire, Vincent Scalbert


Création sonore
Philippe de Rham


Costumes
Isa Boucharlat


Conseil en dramaturgie
Roberto Fratini Serafide


Soutiens et partenaires
La Compagnie est au bénéfice d'une convention de soutien conjoint avec La Ville de Lausanne, le Canton de Vaud et Pro Helvetia, Fondation suisse pour la culture; ce spectacle est soutenu par la Loterie Romande, la Fondation Philanthropique Famille Sandoz, Ernst Göhner Stiftung, la Fondation Françoise Champoud, la Fondation Corymbo et le Migros Pour-cent culturel. La Cie Philippe Saire est en résidence permanente au Théâtre Sévelin 36.


↳ PHOTOS HD
↳ FICHE TECHNIQUE

Dates passées

Lausanne (CH)
15.09.2021
26.09.2021
Paris (FR)
23.11.2021
26.11.2021